(October 2, 2023) – Akani Sambu won the vacant World Boxing Federation (WBF) Intercontinental Bantamweight title on Sunday, October 1, defeating Joshua Studdard by unanimous decision in Pretoria, South Africa.
But while it was a good, entertaining fight, everything ended in controversy as Studdard was incorrectly announced as the winner by split decision, due to two judges filling in their score-cards incorrectly.
The correct scores were 117-111, 115-114 and 115-113 for Sambu, and thankfully the mistake was discovered quickly and the right man given his victory. But a rematch is certainly called for.
Undefeated since 2017, the new WBF Intercontinental Bantamweight champion took his professional record to 7-1-1 (3). Studdard drops to 10-3 (8).
The fight was the main event of a card promoted by Fantastic2Promotions.